The PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT at a glance

The PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT was initiated by me, Dr. Uwe Radelof (52), Parkinson’s patient (diagnosis 2008) and scientist, in 2017 – as the “stem cell” of a patient-driven, interdisciplinary, international project. This aims to provide a causal treatment of Parkinson’s disease before the end of 2030, in order to overcome this disease.

The most common questions that probably go through everyone’s mind at this point are: Is this serious? Does such a project have any chance of success?

In my opinion, this question cannot be answered with yes or no. Rather, what is correct is that the likelihood of success increases to the extent and with the speed with which knowledge about the cause and disease mechanism increases. A superintelligence with unlimited access to the necessary resources would probably reach the goal before 2030. However, without a corresponding project, it will probably take a lot longer.

Ultimately, there are two questions / answers that determine the success of the project:

1. Who are the acting people / scientists?
2. What resources / funds are available?

The answers to both questions are closely linked and mutually determined, and due to the weak lobby there has been a lack of public research funds (see below *). It is therefore necessary that those affected – patients, relatives, (former) employers (?) … – engage themselves as long as it is possible for them. But it could also be interesting for investors to participate appropriately in a high-tech project to research and “repair” the most complex structure that we have found in our universe so far.
*) One of the scientists who support this project recently wrote to me: “It will certainly not be easy to get public funding for new Parkinson’s research on a large scale. For this, health research as a whole is far too neglected in the priorities of politics the EU budget under Pillar 2 of the Horizon Europe research program is roughly € 7 billion less than that of all other areas (climate, energy, food …). This is particularly surprising when you consider that the EU spends around € 4.5 billion a day The concept of saving costs through research has obviously not yet convinced European politics. I see the best chance in a patient-driven project, similar to the Hereditary Disease Foundation, which has definitely accelerated the identification of the HD gene significantly. Sergej Brin / Google, for example, could theoretically more about P in the next few years arkinson research than the EU will spend in its overall health research framework program. The drugs for the treatment of the symptoms of the disease alone will devour around 120 billion euros in the next 10 years (EU: around 1,000,000 patients, around € 1,000 per month per patient). An investment of 10% of these costs in our project would most likely save at least 50% of these costs result.

History and background

Already in the writings of antiquity the symptoms of Parkinson’s disease are mentioned. The first comprehensive description of the disease,  comes from the English physician James Parkinson from the year 1817. Parkinson in particular pointed to the slow but steady progression of the disease. Arvid Carlsson finally discovered in 1960 that the lack of the messenger substance dopamine caused the disease.

Until today unknown are the causes, which lead to the outbreak of the disease – consequently there is still no possibility for prevention.

Also, the disease mechanism is still a mystery. Therefore, we can neither stop nor slow down the progression of the disease – nor search specifically for therapeutic options.

However, after more than 200 years of research, we now have the know-how, technologies and resources to free humanity from this disease that can strike any one of us abruptly.

Goals and expectations in general

The PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT has set itself the task of investigating the causes of Parkinson’s disease and the disease mechanism as part of a major international project, comparable to the human genome project, and to make available a causal therapy before the end of 2030.

This project is particularly attractive due to the expectation that numerous technologies will (have to) be developed in the course of its development and that many of them will also be patented and marketed.

As the project progresses, highly qualified jobs will emerge not only in the medical/neurological field but in various areas of the high-tech industry, e.g. in the field of hardware and software development, e.g. for the development of human-computer-machine but also human-computer-human-interfaces.

This could well lead to the return on investment (ROI) of this project outperforming all other comparable companies.

Implementation

There are two phases for the implementation of the project. The first phase serves to create the prerequisites for carrying out the actual project. Through fundraising activities should be raised 250,000 – 1,000,000 €. These funds are used to draw attention to the project and to receive the support of leading scientists and institutions. Together with them, a “Roadmap” for the second phase will be developed, which will be published in one of the leading scientific journals (for example Nature or Science). On this basis, in the course of the preparation and implementation of a “PARKINSON TERMINATOR SYMPOSIUM” in 2020, a “CHAMPIONS-LEAGUE TEAM” of the top international scientists will be formed in Potsdam. This should in turn motivate financially strong investors to invest the necessary funds.

The second phase, the actual project, is planned and organized by the “CHAMPIONS-LEAGUE-TEAM”.

Significant aspects of the project’s status are contained in the First Report and Progress Meeting Minutes and the Interim Report 2018 to the Deutsche Parkinson Vereinigung e. V. (DPV) of 18 October 2018. >>> open the log. As a result, we were requested by the DPV to call in additional funds already requested and made available and, in addition, to request further funds. Our extended project application was submitted on January 18, 2018 and presented at the meeting of the DPV-science committee on August 20, 2019 in Kassel by Prof. Dr. med. Andreas Kupsch and Dr. med. Uwe Radelof presented and discussed with the DPV-science committee (protocol in preparation).

Phase I: 2018/2019

project preparation

  • Construction of the information and communication platform PTP42.de and a central database (similar to the RZPD – Ressorcenzentrum primary database during the human genome project).
  • Preparing a roadmap containing all the steps necessary to achieve the project objective and publish it in a high-impact science journal, e.g. NATURE or Science.
  • raising the required research funds using alternative sources of money; Art2Cure, Laugh2Cure, Donate2Cure, health insurances, patient organizations, wealthy sufferers, foundations
  • Finding and winning the leading and most suitable scientists (“Robert Oppenheimer of Neurology”) as well as suitable cooperation partners
  • Development of the necessary organizational structures (analogous to the National Genome Research Network – NGFN or the Human Genome Organization – HUGO)

Financial requirements: 250,000 – 1,000,000 EUR

Phase II: 2019/2020 – 2030

project start

Financial needs: EUR 10 million – EUR 50 billion

What is new or different?

Several aspects make this project unique compared to other research projects in the field of neurodegenerative diseases:

Organizationally

  • Mandatory goal: to make causal Parkinson’s therapy available before the end of 2030
  • Roadmap of all steps needed to achieve the project’s goal is set out in a “High Impact” science journal, such as: e.g. NATURE or Science published
  • Establishment of the necessary organizational structure in the center of which is PARKINSON TERMINATOR ORGANIZATION (PASTO, similar to HUGO = Human Genome Organization), which coordinates all work
  • Acquisition of an interdisciplinary team of internationally leading scientists and institutions of neurology, internal medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, molecular genetics, sleep research, rheumatology, immunology, immunogenetics, brain research, computer science, artificial intelligence, criminology (dragnet investigation), chess grandmaster …
  • Obtaining an internationally recognized identification figure (“Robert Oppenheimer of Neurology”) as project manager
  • The PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT is planned as a global, societal engagement. It realizes the interaction of patients, scientists, doctors, politicians, artists, patient organizations, health insurances, wealthy celebrities … as active supporters and financiers.

Financial

  • Identification, naming and attracting the actual/realistically necessary amount of money
  • Identify and tap into alternative sources of funding: patient organizations, wealthy patients, artists (Art2Cure), health insurances (as concerned) company, every single interested citizen (Art2Cure, Laugh2Cure, Donate2Cure …)
  • Lenders are offered added value: acquisition of shares or special information rights, acquisition of special products or conventional products at special prices …
  •  

Scientific

clinic

  • Fresh cellular material from living patients obtained by washing away the surgical instruments used to implant the DBS (Deep Brain Stimulation) electrodes.
  • alternatives to DBS;
    • “Ambulatory stimulation” through the mouth
    • Stimulation by ultrasound (over the mouth)
  • Interdisciplinary: brain research, sleep research, pharmacology, infection biology, microbiology (intestine and skin), Digital Health (HPI Potsdam) …
  • “Enriched Reanalysis” of study results
  • Increased involvement of twin research

Laboratory

Application of the latest technologists, the z. B. already used in cancer research:

  • Next Generation Sequencing (NGS): whole genome and transcriptome of cells of different disease states (healthy – sick – dying)
  • Epigenetic analysis
  • Proteome analysis
  • immuno-status analysis
  • metabolome analysis
  • Microbiological status of the intestine and the skin
  • Single-Cell Analysis

IT

  • Computational modeling, Virtual Patient (ModCell™ from ALACRIS)
  • “Parkinson’s weather forecast” based on comprehensive parameter acquisition: DNA sequence, skin and mucosal colonization status, infection status, body temperature, sleep patterns, toxicity status (blood and cerebrospinal fluid), number and condition of dopaminergic cells, intracranial pressure …
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) see e.g. ASTRAZENECA AND BERG
  • Big Data Analysis, Digital Health (HPI Potsdam)

Das PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT im Überblick

Das PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT habe ich, Dr. Uwe Radelof (52), Parkinson-Patient (Diagnose 2008) und Naturwissenschaftler, auf der Basis meiner Erfahrungen im Humangenomprojekt*, initiiert (2017) – als »Stammzelle« eines Patienten-getriebenen, interdisziplinären, internationalen Projekts. Dieses verfolgt das Ziel, eine kausale, die Ursachen behandelnde Therapie der Parkinsonschen Krankheit vor Ende 2030 verfügbar zu machen, um diese Krankheit zu besiegen. 

Zu den häufigsten Fragen, die wohl jedem an dieser Stelle durch den Kopf gehen, gehören: Ist das seriös? Hat ein solches Projekt überhaupt eine Chance auf Erfolg? 

Meiner Meinung nach kann diese Frage nicht mit ja oder nein beantwortet werden. Richtig ist vielmehr: Die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Erfolgs steigt in dem Maße und mit der Geschwindigkeit, mit der das Wissen über Ursachen und Krankheitsmechanismus wächst. Eine Superintelligenz mit unbeschränktem Zugriff auf die notwendigen Ressourcen würde das Ziel wahrscheinlich vor 2030 erreichen. Ganz ohne ein solches Projekt hingegen wird die Heilung dieser Krankheit vermutlich erst sehr viel später gelingen. 

Letztlich sind es also zwei Fragen/Antworten, die über den Erfolg des Projekts entscheiden:

1. Wer sind die handelnden Personen/Wissenschaftler?

2. Welche Ressourcen/Gelder stehen zur Verfügung? 

Die Antworten auf beide Fragen sind eng miteinander verknüpft und bestimmen sich wechselseitig.

Mit einem »Best of-/Champions League-« Team von Wissenschaftlern lassen sich die notwendigen Ressourcen/Gelder leichter beschaffen.

Stehen Ressourcen/Gelder quasi unlimitiert zur Verfügung, lassen sich die fähigsten Köpfe leichter für das Projekt gewinnen. 

Aufgrund der schwachen Lobby mangelt es an öffentlichen Forschungsmitteln (s. u. **).. Deshalb ist es notwendig, dass sich die Betroffenen – Patienten, Angehörigen, (ehemalige) Arbeitgeber… – selbst engagieren, solange es ihnen möglich ist. Aber auch für Investoren könnte es interessant werden, sich in geeigneter Weise an diesem High-Tech-Projekt zur Erforschung und »Reparatur« der komplexesten Struktur, die wir bisher in unserem Universum gefunden haben, zu beteiligen.

Alle bestehende Initiativen laden wir ein, als autarke Partner, auf der Basis einer gemeinsamen, aufeinander abgestimmten Planung der individuellen Aktivitäten, integraler Bestandteil einer international koordinierten Aktion zu werden. 

Auf der Webseite von DENALI THERAPEUTICS INC., einem jungen US-amerikanischen Unternehmen, dessen Geschäftszweck es ist, neurodegenerative Erkrankungen zu besiegen, ist zu lesen: 

»The Time is Right.« 

Nach mehr als 200 Jahren Forschung verfügen wir nun erstmals über das Know-how, die Technologien und Ressourcen, die es ermöglichen, die Parkinsonsche Krankheit systematisch, umfassend zu analysieren, um sie schließlich zu verstehen und zu besiegen. Die Zeit ist reif. Das heißt, 

es ist an der Zeit es zu versuchen… 

 

*Das Humangenomprojekt war ein mit ca. 15 Mrd. finanziertes internationales Großprojekt, an dem sich von 1990 –2003 interdisziplinäre Forscherteams aus 40 Nationen beteiligten. Koordiniert durch die Human Genome Organisation (HUGO) wurde die ca. 3 Mrd. Basenpaare umfassende DNA-Sequenz, der Bauplans des Menschen, ermittelt.

 

** Einer der Wissenschaftler, die dieses Projekt unterstützen schrieb mir neulich: „Es wird sicher nicht leicht, in großem Maßstab öffentliche Mittel für neue Parkinsonforschung zu bekommen. Dazu hat die Gesundheitsforschung insgesamt einen viel zu geringen Stellenwert in den Prioritäten der Politik. So ist das Budget der EU unter Pillar 2 des Forschungsprogramms Horizon Europe mit ungefähr 7? Milliarden insgesamt geringer als das aller anderen Bereiche (Klima, Energie, Food… Das ist besonders erstaunlich, wenn man bedenkt, dass die EU pro Tag ungefähr 4.5 Milliarden für Gesundheitskosten ausgibt. Das Konzept, durch Forschung Kosten einzusparen, hat offensichtlich die europäische Politik noch nicht überzeugt. Ich sehe die beste Chance in einem patientengetriebenen Projekt, ähnlich der Hereditary Disease Foundation, die die Identifikation des HD Gens sicher deutlich beschleunigt hat. Sergej Brin/Google zum Beispiel könnte theoretisch in den nächsten Jahren mehr zur Parkinsonforschung beitragen, als die EU in ihrem Rahmenprogramm für die Gesundheitsforschung insgesamt ausgeben wird. Allein die Medikamente für die Behandlung der Symptome der Erkrankung verschlingen ca.120 Milliarden Euro in den kommenden 10 Jahren (EU: ca. 1.000.000 Patienten, ca. 1.000 € pro Monat pro Patient). Eine Investition in Höhe von 10% dieser Kosten in unser Projekt, würde mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit zur Einsparung von mehr als 10% dieser Kosten führen, also insgesamt zu einer Ersparnis.

 

Historie und Hintergrund

Bereits in den Schriften der Antike werden die Symptome der Parkinson-Krankheit erwähnt. Die erste umfassende Beschreibung der Erkrankung stammt jedoch von dem englischen Arzt James Parkinson aus dem Jahr 1817. Parkinson wies insbesondere auf das langsame aber stetige Fortschreiten der Erkrankung hin. Arvid Carlssons entdeckte schließlich 1960, dass der Mangel des Botenstoffs Dopamin das Krankheitsbild verursacht.
Bis heute unbekannt sind die Ursachen, die zum Ausbruch der Erkrankung führen – folglich fehlt noch immer eine Möglichkeit zur Prävention.
Auch der Krankheitsmechanismus ist noch immer ein Geheimnis. Deshalb können wir das Fortschreiten der Erkrankung weder stoppen noch verlangsamen – noch gezielt nach Therapie-Möglichkeiten suchen.
Nach mehr als 200 Jahren Forschung verfügen wir nun jedoch erstmals über das Know-how, die Technologien und Ressourcen, die es ermöglichen, die Menschheit von dieser Krankheit zu befreien, die jeden von uns unvermittelt treffen kann.

Ziele und Erwartungen allgemein

PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, im Rahmen eines internationalen Großprojekts, vergleichbar dem Humangenomprojekt, die Ursachen der Parkinson-Erkrankung und den Krankheitsmechanismus aufzuklären sowie eine kausale Therapie vor Ende 2030 verfügbar zu machen.

Besondere Attraktivität erlangt dieses Projekt durch die Erwartung, dass in seinem Verlauf zahlreiche Technologien entwickelt werden (müssen) und viele davon auch patentiert und vermarktet werden.

Mit Voranschreiten des Projekts werden außerdem hoch-qualifizierte Jobs entstehen – und zwar nicht nur im Bereich der Medizin/Neurologie sondern in verschiedenen Bereichen der High-Tech-Industrie, z.B. im Bereich Hard- und Software-Entwicklung z.B. zur Entwicklung von Mensch-Computer-Maschine aber auch Mensch-Computer-Mensch-Schnittstellen.

Das könnte durchaus dazu führen, dass der Return On Investment (ROI) dieses Projekts alle bisherigen, vergleichbaren Unternehmungen überflügelt.

Durchführung

Für die Durchführung des Projekts sind zwei Phasen vorgesehen. Die erste Phase dient dazu, die Vorraussetzungen für die Durchführung des eigentlichen Projekts zu schaffen. Durch Fundraising-Aktivitäten sollen 250.000 – 1.000.000 € eingeworben werden. Diese Mittel werden eingesetzt, um auf das Projekt aufmerksam zu machen und die Unterstützung führender Wissenschaftler und Institutionen zu erhalten. Gemeinsam mit diesen soll eine „Roadmap“ für die zweite Phase erarbeitet werden, die in einem der führenden Wissenschaftsjournale (z.B. Nature oder Science) veröffentlicht wird. Auf dieser Basis soll im Zuge der Vorbereitung und Durchführung eines „PARKINSON TERMINATOR-SYMPOSIUMS“ in 2020, in Potsdam ein „CHAMPIONS-LEAGUE-TEAM“ der internationalen TOP-Wissenschaftler gebildet werden. Dieses soll seinerseits finanzstarke Investoren motivieren, die notwendigen Mittel zu investieren.

Die zweite Phase, das eigentliche Projekt wird vom „CHAMPIONS-LEAGUE-TEAM“ selbst geplant und organisiert.

Wesentliche Aspekte des Projektstatus sind im Ersten Berichts- und Fortschritts-Meeting-Protokoll und im Zwischenbericht 2018 an die Deutsche Parkinson Vereinigung e. V. (DPV) vom 18.Oktober 2018 dokumentiert. >>> Protokoll öffnen. Im Ergebnis wurden wir von der DPV aufgefordert weitere bereits beantragte und bereitgestellte Mittel abzurufen und darüber hinaus eingeladen weitere Mittel zu beantragen. Unser erweiterter Projektantrag wurde am 18. Januar 2018 eingereicht und auf der Sitzung des DPV-Wissenschaftsausschusses am 20. August 2019 in Kassel von Prof. Dr. Andreas Kupsch und Dr. Uwe Radelof präsentiert und mit dem DPV-Wissenschaftsausschusses diskutiert.

Im Dezember 2019 wurde mit der Sequenz-Analyse der ersten neun Biopsie-Proben, die im Zuge der BDS-Operationen von drei Parkinson-Patienten in der Uni-Klinik Magdeburg (Klink-Direktor: Prof. Voges) gewonnen wurden, das erste Teilprojekt abgeschlossen. Die Ergebnisse finden Sie in dieser PowerPoint-Präsentation: 9-HB-Seq-Ana.ppt

 

Phase I: 2018-2020

Projektvorbereitung

  •  Aufbau der Informations- und Kommunikationsplattform PTP42.de und einer zentralen Datenbank (ähnlich dem RZPD – Ressorcenzentrum Primärdatenbank während des Humangenomprojekts).
  • Erarbeitung einer Roadmap, die alle Schritte enthält, die zur Erreichung des Projektziels notwendig sind und Veröffentlichung dieser in einem „High-Impact” Wissenschafts-Journal, z.B. NATUR oder Science.
  • Einwerben der benötigten Forschungsgelder unter Nutzung alternativer Geldquellen; Art2Cure, Laugh2Cure, Donate2Cure, Krankenkassen, Patientenorganisationen, wohlhabende Betroffene, Stiftungen
  • Finden und gewinnen der führenden und am besten geeigneten Wissenschaftler („Robert Oppenheimer der Neurologie“) sowie geeigneter Kooperationspartner
  • Entwicklung der notwendigen Organisationsstrukturen (analog zum Nationalen Genomforschungsnetz – NGFN oder der Human Genome Organization – HUGO)

Finanzbedarf: 250.000 – 1.000.000 EUR

 

Phase II: 2020 – 2030

Projektstart
Finanzbedarf: 10 Mio. – 50 Mrd. EUR


Was ist neu bzw. anders?

Mehrere Aspekte lassen dieses Projekt – verglichen mit anderen Forschungsprojekten im Bereich der neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen – einzigartig erscheinen:

Organisatorisch

  • Verbindliches Ziel: kausale Parkinson-Therapie vor Ende 2030 verfügbar machen
  • Roadmap aller Schritte, die zur Erreichung des Projektziels notwendig sind, wird in einem „High-Impact”-Wissenschafts-Journal, z. B. NATUR oder Science veröffentlicht
  • Etablierung der notwendigen Organisationsstruktur in deren Zentrum als PARKINSON TERMINATOR ORGANIZATION (PASTO, ähnlich HUGO = Human Genome Organization) steht, die alle Arbeiten koordiniert
  • Gewinnung eines interdisziplinären Teams international führender Wissenschaftler und Institutionen der Neurologie, Inneren Medizin, Pharmakologie, Mikrobiologie, molekularen Genetik, Schlafforschung, Rheumatologie, Immunologie, Immunogenetik, Hirnforschung, Informatik, Künstliche Intelligenz, Kriminologie (Rasterfahndung), Schach-Großmeister…
  • Gewinnung einer international anerkannten Identifikationsfigur („Robert Oppenheimer der Neurologie”) als Projektleiter
  • das PARKINSON TERMINATOR-PROJECT ist geplant als ein weltweites, gesamtgesellschaftliches Engangement. Es realisiert das Zusammenwirken von Patienten, Wissenschaftlern, Ärzten, Politikern, Künstlern, Patienten-Organisationen, Krankenkassen, wohlhabenden Prominenten … als tatkräftige Unterstützer und Geldgeber.

Finanziell

  • Die tatsächlich/realistisch notwendige Menge Geldes ermitteln, benennen und einwerben
  • Alternative Geldquellen identifizieren und anzapfen: Patientenorganisationen, wohlhabende Patienten, Künstler (Art2Cure), Krankenkassen (als Betroffene) Unternehmen/r, jeder einzelne Interessierte Mitbürger (Art2Cure, Laugh2Cure, Donate2Cure…)
  • Geldgebern wird ein Mehrwert angeboten: Erwerb von Geschäftsanteilen bzw. besonderen Informationsrechten, Erwerb besonderer Produkte oder herkömmlicher Produkte zu besonderen Preisen…

Wissenschaftlich

Klinik

  • frisches Zellmaterial von lebenden Patienten, das durch das Abwaschen der OP-Instrumente gewonnen wird, die beim Implantieren der DBS-Elektroden verwendet werden.
  • Alternativen zur DBS;
    • Stimulation durch Ultraschall?
  • Interdisziplinär: Hirnforschung, Schlafforschung, Pharmakologie, Infektionsbiologie, Mikrobiologie (Darm und Haut), Digital Health (HPI Potsdam) …
  • „Angereicherte Reanalyse“ von Studienergebnissen
  • verstärkte Einbindung der Zwillingsforschung

Labor

Anwendung neuester Technologien, die z. B. in der Krebsforschung schon genutzt werden:

  • Next Generation Sequencing (NGS): gesamtes Genom und Transkriptom von Zellen verschiedener Krankheitsstadien (gesund – krank – sterbend)
  • Epigenetische Analysen
  • Proteome-Analyse
  • Immuno-Status-Analyse
  • Metabolom-Analyse
  • Mikrobiologischer Status des Darms und der Haut
  • Single-Cell-Analysis

 

IT

  • Computational modelling, Virtueller Patient​ (modcell™ from ALACRIS)
    „Wettervorhersage” für Parkinson auf der Basis einer umfassenden Parametererfassung: DNA Sequenz, Besiedlungsstatus der Haut und Schleimhäute, Infektionsstatus, Körpertemperatur, Schlafverhalten, Vergiftungsstatus (Blut und Hirnflüssigkeit), Anzahl und Zustand dopaminerger Zellen, Hirndruck …
  • Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) siehe z. B. ASTRAZENECA AND BERG
  • Big Data Analysis, Digital Health (HPI Potsdam)

 

Wichtige internationale Initiativen und Institutionen:

The Sergey Brin’s family project ASAP (Aligning Science across Parkinson’s):
 
The NIH’s Accelerating Medicines Partnership (AMP) for Parkinson’s:
 
The Linked Clinical Trials initiative (run by the Cure Parkinson’s Trust) where they have 16 compounds in 17 clinical trials for disease modification for PD:
 
The Michael J Fox Foundation Fox insights:
and their Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative (PPMI):
 
The International Parkinson Disease Genomics Consortium (IPDGC) group:
 
The Rostock International Parkinson’s Disease Study (ROPAD):

And the recently started Parkinson’s Foundation project in the US:

https://www.parkinson.org/PDGENEration

 
Moreover there are also private/for-profit activities like:
BlueRock Therapeutics: https://bluerocktx.com,
DENALI Therapeutics: https://denalitherapeutics.com,